Orchid Envy

A close-up of Orchid texture in oil and silver leaf at Glam Vintage & Moderne

A close-up of the Orchid texture in oil and silver leaf at Glam Vintage & Moderne

I remember my first brush with an Orchid Grower, a pharmacist who had made a hobby of propagating orchids.  She was as  proud of these showy little plants as grandparents are of their precocious little charges.  I was confused yet intrigued with her commitment to this gangly ” flower”.

Ilona Biernot Orchid at Glam Vintage & Moderne

Canadian artist Ilona Biernot’s Orchid at Glam Vintage & Moderne

Photo from Just add Ice Orchids

Photo from Just add Ice Orchids

In the 90’s the orchid gained popularity with contemporary decorators for its simplicity and height.  My mom anthropomorphized hers as she became plant mother and professed to know exactly what made them happiest.

It is interesting that Wikipedia says the “name comes from the Ancient Greek ὄρχις (órkhis), literally meaning “testicle“, because of the shape of the twin tubers in some species”.

Rather than employing an orchid sitter I did what the natives do… I put my orchid in a basket in a tree when I left my tropical home last spring.

I hope he is still there when I get back and will be happy to see me.

.

Leave a Reply

